Mark Richt avoids ejection after grabbing official

By | December 31, 2017

After jumping out to a 14-3 lead in the FedEx Orange Bowl, No. 10 Miami saw its lead evaporate in the second quarter as No. 6 Wisconsin scored 21 unanswered points to take a 24-14 halftime lead.

During the Badgers’ third touchdown drive of the quarter, Miami head coach Mark Richt was furious, as he believed that a holding call was missed. Richt let the officials have it during a timeout in the final minute of the quarter, even pushing back one of his assistants as if to say “I’ll do the talking here.”

Richt was flagged for unsportsmanlike conduct, after which he grabbed an official. According to the rules, that should have resulted in an ejection for forcibly grabbing an official.

And given what Kentucky running back Benny Snell was ejected for in Friday’s Music City Bowl, Richt is fortunate that he was not thrown out.

The post Mark Richt avoids ejection after grabbing official appeared first on FanRag Sports.

Powered by WPeMatico